ClassOfNext
All colleges

Yale University Common Data Set 2025-26

CTTest policy: Test-flexible per C8F: all applicants must submit scores (ACT, AP, IB, or SAT); C8 checkbox marks scores not required but consideredCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

4.7%

2,387 of 50,264

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1480–1560

ACT middle 50%

33–35

Who got into Yale University: GPA and SAT of reported applicants

See who got into Yale University

GPA and SAT of 1289 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.

Unlock for $39, one time
Admissions
AppliedC150,264
AdmittedC12,387
EnrolledC11,633
YieldC168.4%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2944
Accepted a placeC2738
Admitted from waitlistC232
Odds if you stay on the listC24.3%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC967%
Submitted ACTC925%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9730–780
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9740–790
Average high school GPAC12—
GPA of 4.0C11—
GPA 3.75–3.99C11—
GPA 3.50–3.74C11—
GPA below 3.50C11—
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$72,500
Required feesG1—
Food and housingG1$21,600
Need fully met (first-years)H2100%
Average % of need metH2100%
Average need-based packageH2$74,353
Average need-based grantH2$73,273
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankVery important
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesVery important
  • Talent/abilityVery important
  • Character/personal qualitiesVery important
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB16,667
First-year retentionB2299.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB96.3%
Notes on this filing
  • C8 checkbox marks SAT/ACT as 'not required for admission, but considered if submitted', but C8F says all first-year applicants must submit test scores. Trusted C8F; the conflict is noted here.
  • C8F lists 'ACT' twice in the list of options; the second is likely SAT, which was not verified.
  • C1: applied and enrolled totals are sums of the men and women rows (22819+27445; 799+834). Admitted total is 1189+1198. Enrolled count for C1 is 1633, which matches the B2 first-time column total.
  • C1 residency breakdown table was left blank.
  • C9 test submission percentages given as 67% SAT and 25% ACT.
  • C10: class rank reported for 31% of first-time students.
  • C11 and C12: GPA distribution, average GPA and percent submitting GPA are blank, so gpa fields are null.
  • C21: no early decision plan offered; ED counts left null.
  • C22: early action offered with closing 11/1 and notification 12/15, but applied and admitted counts are not reported.
  • B4-B11 (Fall 2019 cohort): 6-year graduation rate of 0.963 is printed and used. The 4-year rate is not printed; it would be 818/1550 (about 52.8%) but was not computed, so it is null.
  • H2 (first-time, first-year column): the filing does not print a count or percent of students who received need-based aid, so pct_with_need_awarded_aid is null. pct_need_fully_met = 885/885 = 100.0%.
  • G1: required fees are not listed, so required_fees is null. Tuition is a single private rate, so in-state and out-of-state are null.

Source: Yale University Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.