All colleges
University of Chicago Common Data Set 2025-26
ILTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required; C8F clarification blankCompare with other schoolsAP credit
Acceptance rate
4.5%
2,039 of 45,533
Early decision rate
—
SAT middle 50%
1500–1560
ACT middle 50%
34–35
Who got into University of Chicago: GPA and SAT of reported applicants
Accepted 122Waitlisted 199Rejected 312Preview
Self-reported by 633 applicants on Reddit, so it leans toward strong applicants and isn't University of Chicago's official data. 19 with lower scores are off the chart but counted in the table. See your chances
See who got into University of Chicago
GPA and SAT of 633 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.
Unlock for $39, one timeAdmissions
| AppliedC1 | 45,533 |
| AdmittedC1 | 2,039 |
| EnrolledC1 | 1,786 |
| YieldC1 | 87.6% |
| Early decisionC21 | Offered, counts not reported |
| Early actionC22 | Offered, counts not reported |
Waitlist
| Offered a placeC2 | — |
| Accepted a placeC2 | — |
| Admitted from waitlistC2 | — |
| Odds if you stay on the listC2 | — |
Test scores and GPA
| Submitted SATC9 | 57% |
| Submitted ACTC9 | 25% |
| SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9 | 740–770 |
| SAT Math (25th–75th)C9 | 760–790 |
| Average high school GPAC12 | 4.54 |
| GPA of 4.0C11 | 56.8% |
| GPA 3.75–3.99C11 | 26.9% |
| GPA 3.50–3.74C11 | 9.9% |
| GPA below 3.50C11 | 6.5% |
Cost and financial aid
| TuitionG1 | $75,960 |
| Required feesG1 | $2,715 |
| Food and housingG1 | $21,414 |
| Need fully met (first-years)H2 | 100% |
| Average % of need metH2 | 100% |
| Average need-based packageH2 | $84,555 |
| Average need-based grantH2 | $78,651 |
What admissions looks at
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankConsidered
- Academic GPAConsidered
- Standardized test scoresConsidered
- Application essayVery important
- Recommendation(s)Very important
- InterviewNot considered
- Extracurricular activitiesVery important
- Talent/abilityVery important
- Character/personal qualitiesVery important
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni/ae relationConsidered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- State residencyConsidered
- Religious affiliation/commitmentConsidered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
From item C7.
Outcomes
| UndergraduatesB1 | 7,453 |
| First-year retentionB22 | 99% |
| 4-year graduation rateB | — |
| 6-year graduation rateB | 95% |
Notes on this filing
- Filing header says CDS 2025-2026 but most section headers say 2024-2025; admissions and enrollment data are Fall 2025, and the graduation cohort is Fall 2019 (B5).
- C1: no totals printed; applied (19929+24578+1026) and admitted (1169+870+0) were summed from the male/female/unknown columns.
- C2: waitlist offered, accepted and admitted counts are blank; policy is Yes and the waitlist is not ranked.
- C21/C22: early decision and early action are offered, but applicant and admit counts are blank.
- C8F clarification is blank; the test policy comes from the C8A checkbox alone (SAT or ACT not required, considered if submitted).
- B22: retention printed as 99%; calculated from 1715/1726 it is about 99.4%. The printed figure was used.
- B5: 4-year graduation rate not printed; it was not computed from line D (1468/1724).
- B5: 6-year graduation rate of 95.0% is printed on line H (Fall 2019 cohort).
- H2 line c/d: pct_with_need_awarded_aid computed as 652/652 = 100 (students with need who were awarded any aid); the denominator is an interpretation.
- H2 line h/d: pct_need_fully_met computed as 652/652 = 100.0.
- H2 uses the 2025-2026 estimated column (marked X), not 2024-2025 final, despite the H2 header wording.
- G1: private institution, one tuition figure ($75,960) for first-year and all undergraduates; in-state and out-of-state left null. Room and board is the food and housing (on-campus) figure.
- C12: average GPA 4.54 and 62.15% submitting GPA as printed. C11 values use the all-enrolled column; pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99, 2.00-2.49, 1.00-1.99 and below-1.0 bands (6.48).
Source: University of Chicago Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.