All colleges
Princeton University Common Data Set 2025-26
NJTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required; no subject tests requiredCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy
Acceptance rate
4.4%
1,868 of 42,303
Early decision rate
No ED
SAT middle 50%
1490–1560
ACT middle 50%
34–35
Who got into Princeton University: GPA and SAT of reported applicants
Accepted 194Waitlisted 107Rejected 788Preview
Self-reported by 1,089 applicants on Reddit, so it leans toward strong applicants and isn't Princeton University's official data. 33 with lower scores are off the chart but counted in the table. See your chances
See who got into Princeton University
GPA and SAT of 1089 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.
Unlock for $39, one timeAdmissions
| AppliedC1 | 42,303 |
| AdmittedC1 | 1,868 |
| EnrolledC1 | 1,408 |
| YieldC1 | 75.4% |
| Early decisionC21 | Not offered |
| Early actionC22 | Offered, counts not reported |
Waitlist
| Offered a placeC2 | 1,370 |
| Accepted a placeC2 | 1,086 |
| Admitted from waitlistC2 | 36 |
| Odds if you stay on the listC2 | 3.3% |
Test scores and GPA
| Submitted SATC9 | 60% |
| Submitted ACTC9 | 20% |
| SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9 | 740–780 |
| SAT Math (25th–75th)C9 | 760–800 |
| Average high school GPAC12 | 3.96 |
| GPA of 4.0C11 | 72% |
| GPA 3.75–3.99C11 | 24% |
| GPA 3.50–3.74C11 | 3% |
| GPA below 3.50C11 | 1% |
Cost and financial aid
| TuitionG1 | — |
| Required feesG1 | — |
| Food and housingG1 | — |
| Need fully met (first-years)H2 | 100% |
| Average % of need metH2 | 100% |
| Average need-based packageH2 | $79,320 |
| Average need-based grantH2 | $79,320 |
What admissions looks at
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankVery important
- Academic GPAVery important
- Standardized test scoresVery important
- Application essayVery important
- Recommendation(s)Very important
- InterviewConsidered
- Extracurricular activitiesVery important
- Talent/abilityVery important
- Character/personal qualitiesVery important
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni/ae relationConsidered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
From item C7.
Outcomes
| UndergraduatesB1 | 5,916 |
| First-year retentionB22 | 99% |
| 4-year graduation rateB | — |
| 6-year graduation rateB | 97% |
Notes on this filing
- C1: applied total (42,303) equals sum of male, female and unknown counts; admitted (1,868) and enrolled (1,408) also sum from the sex-based rows.
- C1: enrolled (1,408) in the C1 table differs from the B1 full-time first-time first-year count (686 + 718 = 1,404) and from the B2 first-time first-year total (1,404); B1/B2 totals are not reconciled with C1.
- C2: waitlist labels were cut off; values mapped by position as offered 1,370, accepted a place 1,086, admitted from waitlist 36.
- C21: early decision not offered, so ED counts left null. C22: early action offered (closing 11/1, notification mid-December); applicant and admit counts not reported.
- C8: SAT/ACT not required but considered if submitted (C8A); C8F confirms standardized testing paused and applications without scores are complete. Consistent.
- B4-B11: the 2019 cohort was used. The filing does not print a four-year graduation rate, so grad_rate_4yr is null. Six-year rate of 97% is printed in line H. The 2018 cohort shows #DIV/0! and was not used.
- B22: retention printed as 99% (1,387 of 1,407 = 98.6%). The printed value was used.
- G1: all tuition, fee, and housing fields are blank; the filing says 2026-27 costs will be available 7/1/2026.
- H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed and was not computed, so it is null. The 2025-26 H1 figures are estimates. H2 first-time first-year column: 991 of 991 with need were awarded aid and need fully met (100.0%).
- C7: all factors were mapped from the checked columns; no additional factor-specific program differences were provided.
- H2: the 2025-26 Estimated column was checked for the academic year reported.
Source: Princeton University Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.