ClassOfNext
All colleges

Duke University Common Data Set 2025-26

NCTest policy: Test-optional for 2026-27 cycle; SAT/ACT considered if submitted, not required (C8A checkbox; C8F clarification)Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

5.2%

2,910 of 55,541

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

1510–1570

ACT middle 50%

34–35

Who got into Duke University: GPA and SAT of reported applicants

See who got into Duke University

GPA and SAT of 940 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.

Unlock for $39, one time
Admissions
AppliedC155,541
AdmittedC12,910
EnrolledC11,749
YieldC160.1%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC948%
Submitted ACTC927%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9740–780
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9770–790
Average high school GPAC12—
GPA of 4.0C11—
GPA 3.75–3.99C11—
GPA 3.50–3.74C11—
GPA below 3.50C11—
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$73,740
Required feesG1$2,635
Food and housingG1$20,222
Need fully met (first-years)H294.6%
Average % of need metH2100%
Average need-based packageH2$83,513
Average need-based grantH2$76,455
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesVery important
  • Talent/abilityVery important
  • Character/personal qualitiesVery important
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB16,525
First-year retentionB2297%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB96.1%
Notes on this filing
  • C1: applied, admitted and enrolled totals are sums of the male and female columns (no total printed); no unknown-sex counts reported.
  • C2: waitlist block is entirely blank (offered, accepted, admitted); policy answered Yes.
  • C21: early decision offered (Yes) but Fall 2025 applied and admitted counts are blank; closing date printed as 11 months 1 day and notification as 12 months 15 days.
  • C22: early action marked N/A; treated as not reported.
  • C8A/C8F: SAT/ACT checkbox reads 'not required but considered if submitted'; C8F states test optional for the 2026-27 cycle, which is later than the Fall 2025 enrollees reported in C9. Summary follows C8F.
  • C9: enrolled-student test submission percentages are 48% SAT (843) and 27% ACT (473).
  • C11 and C12: GPA distribution and average are blank; GPA fields left null.
  • B4-B21: 4-year graduation rate is not printed for the Fall 2019 cohort; left null (completers within 4 years are 1,469 of 1,730 but the rate was not computed). 6-year rate 96.1% is from the Fall 2019 cohort, row H.
  • B22: retention 97.0% printed; 1,687 of 1,740 retained.
  • G1: private institution, one tuition for all students; in-state and out-of-state left null. Room and board uses food and housing (on-campus) of $20,222.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid left null; filing shows 726 with need and 726 awarded aid (line d/line c) but the percentage was not printed. pct_need_fully_met computed as 687/726 = 94.6% (line h / line d, first-time full-time first-year column).
  • H2 line I: average percent of need met printed as 100.0%.

Source: Duke University Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.